The lights are off..and everyone’s in bed

GRIN # 22

We lost power the other night for about three hours. And now I remember why A). I hate camping and B). People used to have so many children back in the “olden” days.

Tyler was elated at this turn of events, caused by howling winds. Me and my husband, not so much. It took me about 45 minutes to find a lighter. Tyler had a mining light strapped to his forehead that he wouldn’t relinquish for anything.

Jerry, eager to try out his generator, brought it home from the shop and hooked it up. Suddenly, we were at the fair. “Don’t they have quiet generators?” I asked.

“Nope.” He didn’t elaborate. I sensed I was being somewhat of a wet blanket.

The generator powered the heat, the fridge and, for some odd reason, the microwave for about three minutes. Our neighbor called.

“What are ya’ll doing over there?” It was that loud. Clearly, we couldn’t run it all night. I resisted asking, “What’s the point of this thing if you can’t run it all night?”

We turned it off. It was quiet. It was cold. I was missing my shows. I couldn’t check email. Tyler was getting on my nerves.

Some people find silence soothing, but I guess I’m not one of them. It was like watching paint dry. After about an hour of watching Tyler work on a puzzle by firelight, Jerry announced, “Let’s go to bed.”

Now, that’s what I’m talking about. It was the best idea I’d heard all night, although it was only about 8 o’clock. A little romance by candlelight. I could so get into that.

I started up the stairs, carrying a candlestick and feeling like the mom on “Little House on the Prairie.” All I needed was four kids tucked away in a back bedroom and a prairie skirt to hike up for Pa. Suddenly, Tyler shot past me, his mining light leading the way and catapulted into our king-sized bed. He was stripped down to his undies.

Propped up on the pillows, Tyler’s mining light nearly blinded me. “Mom, the power is totally out, even the lights. The heat, too–everything.”

“Thank you, Einstein.”

“I have to sleep with you guys tonight.”

Huh. Just by looking at him, I knew I wasn’t going to talk him out of it.  I walked down the hall with my candle, checking the thermostat: 63. It was too cold for skirt-hiking tonight anyway. Maybe next time.

8 Responses to “The lights are off..and everyone’s in bed”

  1. That’s embarrassing!

  2. Poor Jer.. LOL love the story though….

  3. GREAT Story!

  4. You crack me up. As Jeff said…great story. We miss you and all the funny stories at book club. Please join us ….anytime….don’t worry about reading the book…ha ha….. just come and entertain us. Hugs to you, Della

Leave a Reply

