Sauerkraut in the news

GRIN #31

Ah-ha! I’ve made it 31 days blogging once a day without stopping. And I’m lovin’ it! I hope you are too. Thanks for reading; it really helps.

I’ve talked more about sauerkraut in the past week than I have in my entire life. But I could not let this pass.

I read this in the People’s Pharmacy column in Sunday’s News &Observer:

Q. My favorite home remedy is sauerkraut for canker sores. If I feel one coming on, I put a wad of chopped sauerkraut on the area, hold it there a minute, then chew it and swallow. I do this three or four times a day for two to three days.

ARE YOU FRICKING KIDDING ME? THAT IS DISGUSTING! WHY DON’T YOU JUST TELL US YOU PICK YOUR NOSE AND EAT WHAT YOU FIND?

But Joe & Terry Graedon, both pharmacists and the writers of People’s Pharmacy, are too nice to say this. Instead they recommend swishing sauerkraut juice (better I guess than eating a wad of stuff that’s been on your face for a while) or buying B-12 supplements. “Perhaps the bacteria that ferment cabbage into sauerkraut provide helpful nutrients.”

Perhaps. Or maybe your body is so freaked out that you just ate your germ-ridden poultice that it didn’t have the nerve to go on cankering.

Whatever. Sauerkraut is disgusting. As Forrest Gump would say: That’s all I have to say about that.

11 Responses to “Sauerkraut in the news”

  1. Tori Scuderi Says:

    You know Chrissy, when I was growing up, there was a family in my town that made sauerkraut for a living. Going to their house for a birthday party was always tough for me because there was this unique smell that wafted over the entire area…..I get what you’re saying about sauerkraut. But in it’s defense, my aunt used to make it with pork chops and A LOT of brown sugar…..if you want the recipe I’ll be happy to get it :)……but I remember it not being toooooo awful for Sunday dinner.

    • You are nice, Tori, standing up for the underdog. I’d like to see the recipe actually. Step1: Rot cabbage. Step 2: Rot cabbage some more. Step 3: One box brown sugar. Step 4: Stir and Serve. Yummy!

  2. Kris Shuford Says:

    Just a correction. Neither Joe nor Terry Graedon are pharmacists. Joe has a master’s in PHARMACOLOGY (which is different from pharmacy) & Terry is a PhD in anthropology.

  3. Kris Shuford Says:

    And as for myself, I have thoroughly enjoyed your blogs!

  4. I still like sauerkraut, Chrissy! Next time I have a problem with canker sores I’ll try this remedy and let you know how it works! LOL

  5. Canker sores- yuck! Sauerkraut (had to look how to spell that)- Yum!!

  6. “didnt have the nerve to go on cankering” I love it chrissy. you make me laugh so hard!! btw that SK crap makes me GAG

Leave a Reply

