QUIZ: Which one of these is not like the other?

GRIN # 38

Real or fake? And, no, pictures of breasts do not follow.

See if you can spot the imposter event or organization. I came across these recently when searching for story ideas for my paying work.

Oh, and NO googling–that’s cheating!

Return Shopping Carts to the Supermarket Month: Since 2 million shopping carts are stolen each year at $100 a pop, the U.S. Census Bureau instituted this awareness program for the month of February.

  • Manuary: In January, men are called upon to be manly men and grow facial hair, eat meat, get into fights and be chivalrous.
  • The National Manuary Association: A newbie organization based in Florida that’s looking for a cure for prostate cancer.
  • National Boost Your Self-Esteem Month: We just missed this one, scheduled for February. Activities include repeating self-affirmations in front of a mirror such as “I am worthy” and “I am lovable.”
  • National Bologna Day: Fire up the skillet on Oct. 24 for a fried bologna sandwich with mayo. Instituted during the Depression to introduce lower-cost cuts of meat.
  • Goat Trauma Awareness Month: Celebrated in June to create awareness for the more than 6,000 people traumatized by goats in U.S. petting zoos.
  • National Pudding-Snack Month: Recognized in February; originated from an increase in dairy prices and a decrease in pudding production and sales.

Well? What do YOU think?

Tomorrow: The imposter revealed.

8 Responses to “QUIZ: Which one of these is not like the other?”

  1. I’ll go with the National Manuary Association, since it repeats the word “Manuary” and its name doesn’t really match its description. The others seem either plausible or too weird to be fiction. And if the shopping cart one isn’t real, it needs to be! I saw a woman leaving her motorized cart next to a car the other day — she rode it right up to her car, hopped in and left it sitting there!

  2. I vote for the shopping cart one for the same reason as Dan. I can’t go with anything with Manuary in it since it sounds like a word you would make up because it made you laugh…I swear I can hear you now. I think it is the self esteem one. I am pretty sure I heard something about this one. I totally could see how the goat one could be true…I am going to be in trouble with my mom for saying that one. Oh well. Manuary…now I am laughing.

    • So you think it’s self esteem? Or Manuary? I like how you’re thinking it out. It’s like you’re on “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?” hee.

  3. I’m voting for the Shopping Cart campaign as the imposter because I think the U.S. Census has enough to worry about. Mind you, I wouldn’t be surprised if there were a real Shopping Cart Amnesty program somewhere.

  4. real or imposter they all made me laugh but goat trauma I hope its not true surely we have other things to worry about

  5. Michelle Says:

    Um…my vote is Manuary…

Leave a Reply

