I told myself so…

GRIN # 74

I went, I saw, I lunged, I squatted. And today I’m damn near bedridden.

I was right. The boot camp class yesterday had sadistic leanings. Parts of it weren’t bad, but the lunging with weights and squatting was amazingly painful.

Why didn’t I stop? That is a fantastic question.

Because I’m an idiot, a masochist and vain. Because everyone else was doing it like it was no big deal. I just don’t get it. It hurt so BAD!! And I’m not a wimp. I work out a lot–just not like that.

After class, one person came up to me and said, “Don’t feel bad. I’ve been doing this for a year, and I still get really sore.”

Well, that’s a ringing endorsement. Or code for “Run away!”

Working with a trainer–and other people–gives an incentive to push past your comfort zone, I guess. And people actually pay good money for the privilege!

Damn, I can just go bike riding with Jerry if I want to torture myself that bad.

I came home and promptly ate a nice healthy lunch followed by about two pounds of Easter candy and half of Tyler’s chocolate Lindt bunny, the latter of which I ate right in front of the painter. I figure chocolate binges should be conducted in private, like picking your nose, but I couldn’t help it. I deserved that rabbit head even if it meant gnawing it off in the middle of a conversation.

So I’m not going back. Because of the cost. Not because I can’t walk.

Really.

13 Responses to “I told myself so…”

  1. Michelle Says:

    LOL… too funny.. get that rabbit… um isn’t Tyler going to be mad you ate his rabbit?? LOL… and I am with ya girl… you are not a quitter.. just smart.. save yourself some pain and money!!!

  2. Why do they call it “Boot Camp” anyways?! You’re never wearing boots (not that you’d want your closest friends to see you wearing boots with athletic gear!) and how can it be a “camp” (now maybe being Canadian born, my idea of camp is a tent out in the middle of nowhere surviving on a menu of beans & weenies)

    If getting in shape felt good and eating candy hurt, it would be easier! 🙂

  3. Caryl Webb Says:

    This is the funniest thing I’ve ever read! I can’t believe you kept going even though your muscles were killing you during the workout! Sure do wish I could see you walk up and down the stairs about now! I’m sorry you’re so sore, but it is pretty funny. Hey, at least you’re not injured (like me finishing the half marathon despite my knee feeling like it had a 12″ knife in it!)……..the things we do to “prove” to ourselves we’re tough!

    • You had good reason to be sore–a half marathon and a legitimate knee problem. I did this to myself!!! Tyler does a really good imitation of me coming up and down the stairs. Did the massage and man it felt good at the time, but now I think I’m worse. Must. have. Epsom. Salt. Bath.

  4. Oh Lord I can feel your pain. Really…I can! I gave up on those trainer sessions after my third try. Three strikes and you’re out and I was definitely OUT and so was the trainer! I want to get in shape and feel healthy and strong, but I’d also like to be able to freakin’ move.

    Wish I’d had a bunny’s head to eat. I settled for a milky way.

    • Oh, Debe I’m so glad you understand. It hurts SOOOO bad!!! It is really pissing me off. I feel like I have a stake driven through each leg. I almost fell in the grocery store today. This is ridiculous!

  5. I can vouch for her. I saw Crissy today and laughed my a$$ off watching her get into the car!!:~) Girl, you sooooo funny!! Then we had Circus ice cream cones, boy you really showed him!

  6. I am still laughing remember I said are you sure you want todo that boot camp good grief thats for marines

  7. Aunt Rachel Says:

    Funny! Take a couple of Aleve.

    • Did that. Didn’t help. Now I’m trying ibuprofen. That doesn’t help either. Or maybe it does, which is really scary. I can’t imagine it hurting more!

Leave a Reply

