The skillet breach

GRIN #93

I’ve made no secret of my dread of cooking on this blog. But we’ve touched little on, ahem, accessories.

My neighbor and good friend says my utensil drawer looks like it belongs in a summer rental home.

AND I LIKE IT THAT WAY.

I’m not a foodie, and I don’t want gadgets like cookie and garlic presses, bread machines or, God forbid, a Kitchen-Aid stand mixer. I don’t even have fine china.

It took several years, but I finally got rid of the egg cooker, rice steamer and waffle iron well-meaning folks have given us. God bless ’em, but one little pot does all of these things just as well and takes up a lot less space. And if you want waffles that damn bad, go to IHOP.

Let me just cut to the chase: I am really neurotic about my countertops. I want them clean and clear. Even the coffee maker is mounted.

But while I was gone over the weekend, we had a major backsliding incident. Jerry bought a cast-iron skillet.

Dear, dear, dear.

What’s wrong with that, you ask?

Everything!! It took a lot of doing some years back to relegate the gluttonous Dutch Oven to its forever home in the pantry. In case you don’t know, a Dutch Oven is a gigantic cast iron pot that weighs about forty pounds and comes with more instructions than a newborn. You have to season it, scrape it, blah, blah, blah. You can’t wash it with soap; it’s a total pain in the ass. And if you have back problems like I do, go ahead and plug in the heating pad if you’re even thinking of lifting it.It’s a beast!

The cast-iron skillet is the Dutch Oven’s only slightly less annoying cousin. And, according to my husband, eating from one will boost your iron levels. I had to call BS on that one. I still haven’t googled it, but I’m betting I’m right.

Like the D.O., this too has to be babied, seasoned, scraped, wiped down, whatever. I will admit the food Jerry’s cooked in it so far is outstanding. But he lets the skillet sit afterward. And sit. And sit. Apparently, it’s curing or doing whatever it does. And each pass through the kitchen I eye it’s greasy bottom, it’s mere presence on the stovetop. Ugh.

“I will take care of it,” he says when I complain.

And he does. Eventually.

I have plans for the skillet.

It may bunk up with its cousin in the pantry. Or join the chafing dish still loitering above the refrigerator. One day the time will be right.

I’m a patient woman.

10 Responses to “The skillet breach”

  1. If I thought a cast iron skillet would get Richard to cook I would go buy one today!!

  2. We use ours to blacken fish. It is sooooo easy and good.

  3. Sadly, I remember all too well the parade of saucepans with experimental pasta dishes left in the fridge. How many different dishes did you try to create all out of pasta??? I guess everyone ate on a budget in college. I’m assuming you never tried some of those fine dishes out on Tyler or Jerry…right???

    • Of course, girl, I try everything! And when I’m desperate I pull out all those old favorites from college–like blue box mac-n-cheese.

  4. Raven Morris Says:

    Cast iron cookware is the safest, most non-leeching cookware available. I hope you don’t use plastic-coated cookware (Teflon, etc.) which is highly toxic.

    It really isn’t difficult at all to maintain cast iron cookware. Right after you cook with it, put hot water in it in the sink, and a few minutes later, rinse it off with a cloth. Done. If it will be stored for months, coat it in vegetable oil lightly. Otherwise, the oil from regular cooking is plenty enough and you won’t need to do anything to it for the next hundred years.

  5. If you’re interested in getting rid of that Victor cast iron skillet, I’d be happy to take it off your hands, that is if you still have it (I know this is an old thread). I love cooking with cast iron. Shame seeing it sit in the pantry not getting used.

Leave a Reply

