Just say NO!

GRIN # 109

Sometimes my stories get me into trouble.

Usually I can be objective, but sometimes I think, “Hey, this is a great idea.”

Like the time I wrote about vitamins, supplements and good-for-you-foods like acai berry, green tea, pomegranate etc.

At the end of the interview, I asked my source: “What’s the best bang for your buck–the one thing you can buy that has been scientifically proven to be beneficial in several areas?”

Without hesitation, she said, “Fish oil. It’s good for fighting off depression, lowering blood pressure and boosting memory. It protects against heart disease, stroke and high cholesterol.”

I bought some–at a very reputable store, mind you. It wasn’t cheap stuff, I promise.

AND I have never been so grossed out in all my life. My mouth tasted like I had rubbed it with raw fish before swallowing said fish whole.

I wanted to rip out my tongue. I wanted to take off my mouth.

Everyone said, “It will go away. Eat something.”

I did. I ate a freakin’ LOT. And then I burped fish.

SHUDDER.

By 3 pm I was so grossed out I couldn’t stand to be by myself anymore. I went to the gym and got on the treadmill. Maybe I could sweat it out.

Out, damned fish, out!

By six or so it had faded, but I still felt the need to brush my tongue repeatedly.

The next day I took the supplements back.

“That’s not supposed to happen,” the clerk said.

“That’s what I hear,” I said.

“That never happens with this brand,” he insisted.

“Yeah. Well. It happened to me. Can I get my money back?”

But it won’t happen again.

My heart and brain are just going to have to fend for them damn selves.

4 Responses to “Just say NO!”

  1. You know you’re supposed to swallow them whole instead of chewing them, right?

  2. Was it the enteric kind? Those are supposed to eliminate the fishiness. I’ve also heard refrigeration helps.

Leave a Reply

