Bring back the ‘Pack’

GRIN # 162

I’ve been thinking lately of all the ways I’m getting smarter as I age–not wearing Spanx, putting comfort first, quitting things when they get difficult. It dawned on me at the Rascal Flatts concert Friday night: I don’t want to tote around a heavy purse anymore.

Think about it. You have to find a place to rest it. You have to worry about people stealing it. You have to root through it to find what you want. And, finally, you have to carry it around everywhere you go. It’s more debilitating than a colicky infant (and I speak from personal experience).

I explained this to one of the photographers I went to the concert with.

“It sounds like you want a fanny pack,” she said, raising an eyebrow.

It did, didn’t it? That couldn’t be right. Fanny packs were right up there with orthotics, The Clapper and “I’ve-fallen-but-I-can’t-get-up.”

By now, someone must have come up with a stylish fanny pack or at least, for the love of God, found a better name than Fanny Pack.

But a little research revealed that, no, they are still called fanny packs. And they are still pretty damn ugly.

Here’s the best one I found:

It’s a cross between a plumber’s tool belt and an accessory for a Pocahontas costume.

Damn. I guess I’m still a little more vain than I am smart.

One Response to “Bring back the ‘Pack’”

  1. Bring back the ?Pack?…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

