Catching waves

GRIN # 164

Ah, good news and bad news. The bad news is my camera broke! Damn! I am already technologically challenged. But Jerry is helping me. Although he just knuckle-punched me in the arm because he was missing the Tour de France.

The good news is that Tyler caught his first wave yesterday!! I have brought the boogie board to the beach for the past two years and he has shown zero interest in it. But yesterday he spent almost all day in the water–like a real live boy!

I helped him catch one but he got tumbled up in the surf and just wanted to float after that. Then Jerry helped him hit the curve of the wave just right. I was watching from shore and his fear turned to sheer joy as he rode that wave all the way in. It was awesome.

Out in water, there were hot spots and cold spots. Jerry said, “Man we need to find a warm spot.” And Tyler said, “Just pee, Dad.” Where do they come up with this stuff?

Today, it’s off to the islands on the boats and we’ll do some tubing. Well, not me. The last time I did that I ended up in physical therapy. Seriously.

2 Responses to “Catching waves”

  1. Michelle Says:

    just like a “real boy” love that comment…

Leave a Reply

