Name that, uh, name

GRIN # 173

A few weeks ago I interviewed a man named “Man” for a story I was writing. I was pretty sure I’d misunderstood. Surely the man’s name wasn’t Man.

“Can you spell that for me before we get started?” I asked.

“M-A-N.”

I almost got tickled at the end of our interview when I said, “Okay, Man, you did a great job.” Dude. Man. You da MAN!

And you remember Dr. Nasir, our dermatologist? I think I introduced you to him a few days ago. (I hope to God he doesn’t read this blog).

Anyway, a few years back, Jerry kept forgetting Nasir’s name and started calling him Yasser Arafat as in “Call Yasser; he should be able to take care of that for you.”  I’m sure that’s politically incorrect, but that didn’t bother Jerry. He knew I knew who he was talking about.

A few months later, Blue Cross Blue Shield was balking at a claim from Nasir’s office so Jerry called the insurance company to iron everything out. Suddenly, I heard him giving the doctor’s name:

It’s Yasser…”

“NASIR!!!” I yelled, envisioning the hours of red tape I’d have to unravel if Jerry professed Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat had removed his precancerous mole and damn if we didn’t want to be reimbursed.

I know there are others. SHARE your unique name stories…

Leave a Reply

