Back from Fantasyland

GRIN # 219

Back from Chicago. What a wonderful city! Chicagoans are very nice. For the most part.

My sister and I did get kicked out of the hotel’s dining room the first morning we were there. Me for wearing shorts; she for wearing denim. We stayed at the Union League Club of Chicago which is a private club/hotel so it has a dress code. And, yes, we knew that. It was in the literature. We just didn’t think they were serious.

I came back down in a long black skirt and looked ridiculous but the breakfast was divine: fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, french toast, oatmeal, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt an on and on.

Once we were presentable, my sister looked around and discovered ours was the only table without a rose. “If I have to change my damn pants to eat here, I want a rose,” she declared, sounding quite a lot like a contestant on The Bachelor.

I think that breakfast is something I’m really going to miss. Food magically appearing with no dishes to wash, no groceries to be bought. This morning at home, the milk was sour and there was but one Toaster Strudel left and no frosting packets. “Into each life some rain must fall,” I answered as Tyler complained.

I met some fantasy characters too. Mom and I posed with The Hamburglar on Navy Pier, which I did chiefly for the free McDonaldLand cookies. My sister refuses to stop and eat on vacation and you are a weakling if you request it, so hoarding food is necessary. The next night my sister and I found “Flo” from Mel’s Diner at my awards banquet. I’m not quite sure why a grown woman writer dresses like Flo publicly, but I didn’t ask. We got to her say, “Kiss my grits!” and I had a beer in hand so it didn’t seem to matter.

2 Responses to “Back from Fantasyland”

  1. So glad you had a great trip, you deserve it girl!!:>)

Leave a Reply

