Bambi who?

GRIN #221

The other day on a walk I saw a doe cross the trail about 20 feet in front of me. Her baby followed her. It was the cutest thing.

“I swear I saw Bambi on my walk,” I told Jerry and Tyler when I got home.

“Who is Bambi?” asked Tyler.

“You don’t know who Bambi is?! Bambi is a baby deer whose mother gets shot by some hunters and then…” I trailed off. Damn, Bambi is a sad movie.

And if you think about it, so are a lot of other Disney movies. Cinderella is an indentured servant. Cruella Deville on 101 Dalmatians is a wannabe animal abuser. Madame Medusa on The Rescuers is both a kidnapper and exploiter of children. God, I need a drink. And the appeal of Winnie the Pooh is just mystifying. Eyeore needs an anti-depressant as much as Pooh needs pants. Couldn’t Christopher Robbin do better?

9 Responses to “Bambi who?”

  1. Go right ahead and add Finding Nemo to that list – his mother dies too! Who writes these stories?

  2. …and the dad dies in Lion King and the wife dies in UP. Not sure why Disney has to add so much death into their movies. They did change things up with The Incredibles…..finally a full family!!

  3. Don’t forget Lady and the Tramp! Not only is it sad, hello~ lost dogs! But did they not know what a “tramp” was?? LOL!!

  4. LOL. you had to mention Pooh and Pants.. too funny!! There are so many sad Disney movies.. Old Yellar, Lion King, Nemo, the list goes on and on

  5. i would say that Lion King is one of the best animated films that i have ever watched *~’

  6. I’m still learning from you, as I’m improving myself. I certainly enjoy reading everything that is written on your site.Keep the stories coming. I liked it!

Leave a Reply

