Benetar, REO and weird names

GRIN # 223

Pat Benetar and REO Speedwagon played at the Koka Booth Amphitheater in Cary, NC last night. It was an awesome concert. Some folks were decked out in full eighties regalia.

I tried really hard to get a good picture of Benetar and her husband of 29 years, Spider. Or maybe it was Spidey.

I walked up to the front section where the high-dollar ticketholders sit and was promptly stopped.

“Can I go in there and take a picture?” I asked.

“No.”

“Well, can I take a picture from here?”

“Ma’am, you have fifteen seconds to take a picture and then I’m going to have to ask you to leave.”

Damn! I have been asked to leave two places now in less than a week. That’s a record for me. Anyway, here’s the shot I got. You’ll just have to trust me that it’s Benetar.

Then REO Speedwagon came on, and I wondered aloud what the REO stood for.

“It stands for Rod, Edward and Otis, the three guys who founded the band,” Jerry said.

Which I believed and of course wasn’t true. My friend Debbie said she’d read it stood for “Rain Expected Outside,” but, really, where else would it rain?

Let it never be said this blog is not on occasion educational. REO Speedwagon is the name of a flatbed truck made in the early 1900s. In 1968, Neal Doughty, band founder and keyboardist, took a history of transportation class at the University of Illinois at Champaign and when he walked in, “REO Speedwagon” was written on the blackboard. As luck would have it, Doughty was looking for a band name and quickly adopted it.

REO actually stands for Ransom Eli Olds who went on to create Oldsmobile.

Jerry was on the right track. Sort of.

And that is probably way more than you ever wanted to know about REO Speedwagon.

Sorry about that.

6 Responses to “Benetar, REO and weird names”

  1. How rude! You should have told the guy, “Ask whatever you want; it doesn’t mean you’ll get it.”

    Wanna know how I already knew the meaning of REO? Heard it from a friend….

  2. I wanted to go the other night….so sad I missed it. How did they sound during “Time For Me To Fly”? That was my all-time favorite when I was in college.

  3. Well dang Chrissy, I read it on the Internet so it HAS to be right!!! Glad you found out where REO actually came from. So, we should have gotten a picture of the guy in the kilt too. We had a great time!!

Leave a Reply

