Tough love

GRIN # 229

The other day I stopped by Dick’s Sporting Goods to buy some new athletic shoes. (BTW, don’t ever “google” Dick’s. I’m still having flashbacks).

Anyway, wearing flip-flops, I wasn’t prepared for athletic shoe shopping, but a nice young guy, Wayne, brought me some socks.

I found some Sauconys I liked, on sale too, but the size 10s were too small.

Before we go any further, let me just say: “Yes, I know.” I know I’m not tall enough to have such big honking feet. I’m not even five-foot-four. I don’t know what happened. I’m very sad about it because if I was taller I could spread out my fleshy middle.

“Let me look in the back and see if I can find a 10 1/2,” Wayne said.

What Wayne came back with was a size 11.

E-L-E-V-E-N.

I tried them on. A little roomy, but they could work.

“I don’t know,” I told Wayne.

“Are they too big? I can call around for a 10 1/2.”

Is this what it’s come to? In addition to everything else falling and spreading out, are my feet giving up, weary of the job they have every day? Succumbing to a size and a half larger than what they’re used to? Man up, feet! Take a few lessons from the waist; it’s used to being squeezed into oblivion!

“You know what, Wayne. I’m just going to take those Asics in a size 10.”

“The Saucony’s really a better shoe for the money.”

“I know. But I can’t buy an 11,” I said, mournfully.

“I’m happy to call another store for the 10 1/2, ma’am.”

“I can’t buy the 10 1/2 either.”

Clearly, Wayne didn’t understand. Wayne was confused. Wayne wanted his socks back. If I buy an 11 today, or even a 10 1/2, this time next year I’ll be at the Wide Shoe Warehouse. After that, who knows?

It’s all about tough love.

9 Responses to “Tough love”

  1. There’s nothing like admitting “de-feet”! 🙂

  2. So funny, Chrissy! You do know that certain sneakers, especially running shoes, run small. REALLY! I wear a six in every single shoe except my sauconeys which are a size 7. So THERE!

    Also, a while back when Matt and I were looking for a soccer goal for Davis we googled Dicks from his work computer. O-M-G! Matt just knew he was going to get fired!!!

  3. LOL! I was a 10 in HS. Now I’m almost an 8 1/2!! I’m going in the opposite direction!

  4. I learned the hard way (pun intended) that it’s dickssportinggoods.com and not just dicks.com – did it at work, too.

Leave a Reply

