Confessions of a hoarding show watcher

GRIN # 233

Okay, let’s talk TV. Or lack thereof.

I like to say I’m not much of a TV watcher, but I think that’s about as true as my saying I’m a good eater.

I like my Master Chef and my Chick-fil-A. What of it?

But, lately, I’m scaring myself. None of the new shows start for about a week, and do you know what I’ve resorted to watching, almost a little, oh I’m ashamed to say it, obsessively?

Sigh.

Confessions: Animal Hoarding on Animal Planet. Yep. That’s right. I should be doing something else. Like sleeping. Or writing. Or reading. My mother would be ashamed. I’m spending hours, that I’ll never get back by the way, getting the inside scoop on the crazy cat lady. And last night I found a new show–Hoarders: Buried Alive on TLC. Someone stop me!

The only thing I can figure is that these shows (kinda like Biggest Loser) make me say “Whew! I’m not so bad after all” as I step over the Legos and bypass the dishes in the sink for a bowl of ice cream.

As a family we watch Man vs. Wild with Bear Grylls, which, really, is just a remake of Fear Factor if you ask me. Bark, worms, wild boar, maggots–nothing’s off limits for that man. Jerry says my cooking is the only thing that would break him.

Oh, ha, ha.

He’s gonna pay for that. Only I gotta get our new life insurance first–just in case.

4 Responses to “Confessions of a hoarding show watcher”

  1. Watched Hoarders: Buried Alive on TLC last night too! I was thinking the exact same thing as I watched. There is something about those shows that make you feel better about yourself. Puts a big ol’ GRIN on your face! See honey, it could be worse…

  2. I soo watch those shows too! And the other you have to watch is the obsessions one on TLC. (can’t think of the name) But it’s people with extreme OCD etc. Now that show makes my nuerosis feel a lot better!!:>) Now the animal one is just plain fascinating that people can live like that. My mother-in-law is somewhat of a hoarder, so I can kinda understand those people, but the cat and dog poop, and even the dead animals they find, just grosses me out and makes me mad! People!!! Glad I’m one of the normal ones, well sorta!:>)

Leave a Reply

