The latest and greatest

GRIN # 256

Everyone’s always slamming technology, but I gotta tell you, I think it’s great.

Yesterday while I was cooking dinner, the phone rang and the Caller ID screen said, “PHONE SCAM.”

Why, thank you very much, Mr. Caller ID. Take that, you overseas poacher! Not interested!

Later that night, I cooked a bag of popcorn simply by pressing the “Popcorn” button on the microwave. There is also a “Baked Potato” button (Jerry showed me that) and it works perfectly! Amazing.

The older I get I realize I’m not as bright as I thought I was, but, dang, if technology isn’t helping with that.

When I went to Chicago, my cell phone switched from Eastern Standard Time to Central Standard Time AUTOMATICALLY! Which led to a 10-minute discussion between mom and I on “What time is it, really?”

“I didn’t change my phone so it must be an hour earlier than what my phone says.”

“But I DID change my watch and it says the same thing as your phone.”

“That can’t be.”

“It must be.”

We were on the verge of calling my sister in the next room to ask her what time it was.

And then I had a revelation: “Maybe my phone changed itself!!”

So what time IS it?” We both yelled in unison.

I guess technology can’t solve everything.

3 Responses to “The latest and greatest”

  1. Excellent post! I really enjoyed reading it. I will be back for more!
    Sincerely,
    technology

  2. Too funny about the time on your cell phone – -guess what? Your laptop will change time zones automatically too! Speaking of technology, and as your sis, could you please enter the 21st century and get texting on your phone??? ahahaha…….only kidding (well, sorta!)

    • WHAT? My laptop will do that too?? Incredible! I will never text. Texting will KILL you, haven’t you heard? Or maybe that’s just when you’re driving. Ask Oprah.

Leave a Reply

