Ditch the keyring and the polo, lady

GRIN # 290

I’m making these mini photo albums for my mom, sister and aunt with the pictures I have from our Chicago trip. I stopped by Five Below (a step-up from The Dollar Store) to get some stickers and scrapbooking stuff on the cheap.

I couldn’t find much. I saw an employee who was restocking, taking a bunch of stuff off the shelf, looking at it and putting it back.

“Could you tell me where your scrapbooking supplies are?” I asked.

Nothing.

“Excuse me, ma’am? Could you tell me where your scrapbooking supplies are?” I said a little louder.

“I DON’T work here!” she said, turning to face me and clearly annoyed.

“Oh, I’m sorry!” I said. “You looked like….I’m sorry,” I trailed off. I was getting ready to tell her she looked like she worked there which, I imagine, is akin to telling a non-pregnant woman she looked pregnant which is why you asked in the first place. Never a good idea.

Still. The woman had an enormous keyring clipped to her belt loop. Who does that unless unless you have doors and cash registers to unlock? She also had the requisite solid color button-down polo tucked into her jeans and was handling the merchandise. She had a sour look on her face, and she ignored me the first time.

It was an honest mistake.

PS: Especially don’t wear a red polo and khakis if you’re going to Target. You’re just asking for it.

Leave a Reply

