Bad beans and dog slobber

GRIN #300

So I have little cooking update. I’ve been doing pretty well in the kitchen lately. Usually I pick a night and cook some big honking hunk of meat and make two or three meals so I don’t have to cook the next night or two. At least in theory. In reality, Jerry takes in the leftovers for lunch so it’s one step forward, two steps back.

The other night I was cleaning out the fridge while stuff was simmering on the stove. I had some black beans in a Tupperware container that I was GOING to put on Jerry’s salad–feeding “The Tiger” requires a lot of protein, remember? I opened the top to look at them and there arose a terrible stench from the container.

About then my timer started going off, so I chucked the container into the sink to deal with later.

Soon after Jerry came home. I was standing near the sink and said, “Those beans in the sink are bad if you smell that.”

We sat down to dinner and started eating our salads with sugar snap peas and other veggies. Jerry picked up a sugar snap pea and looked at me: “Are these the bad beans you were talking about?”

Poor man. He actually thought I’d put the rotten beans in his salad. He was checking before he ate further. How sad.

“No! Even I’m not that bad,” I said. “I wouldn’t do that.”

He just shrugged. Talk about low expectations.

About that time Tyler announced his steamed broccoli tasted like dog slobber.

I guess there’s always room for improvement.

Leave a Reply

