My last question

GRIN # 356

A few months back I was interviewing a female physician for a story on women’s health. I can talk about this now since my piece has been published.

She was a great interview. She spent over an hour on the phone with me, and we talked about all kinds of things that concern women: heart health, hormones, menopause, fertility, diet, exercise, weight, osteoporosis…you get the idea.

Before I go on, let me just say that as a writer, my last question often yields the best or most surprising information, and this case was no exception.

My last question is usually something along the lines of….“Is there anything we haven’t talked about that you’d like to discuss?” or “What’s been the most surprising thing about______” or “What advice would you give to someone getting ready to do what you’re doing?”

Stuff like that.

My last question on this piece was: “What’s the one thing every woman should be doing to improve her health that she might not know about?” I figured she’d say “Take fish oil” or something like that.

Instead, she said, “If I tell you this, you have to promise not to make me sound like a freak.”

To which I said, “Uhhhh, okay.” Because, really, I don’t get that request a lot.

“Women should be having more sex.”

I started laughing. “Seriously? That’s the one thing we need to be doing more of?”

She went on to explain in all kinds of medical terms why this was so; citing basically a “use it or lose it” philosophy and that women have fewer health issues in that, uh, area if they’re, uh, more active. Whew. That was EMBARRASSING!

So that’s what I wrote, very tastefully of course.

Men: You’re welcome.

But, remember, you didn’t hear it from me.

Leave a Reply

