On the first day at Disney…

GRIN # 359

Let me just preface this entry by saying we really, really enjoyed our family vacation to Disney World. We did all four parks (Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Animal Kingdom and Hollywood Studios). Disney knows how to do it up right. We had some fantastic meals, but the best part was being able to spend time as a family–just the three of us.

That said, it was not perfect.

The first day, it rained on us at the Magic Kingdom, and I very nearly threw my own little tantrum.

“It cannot rain on us at Magic Kingdom,” I spewed as it, in fact, poured on us.

We sloshed around for a while, ducking into lame shows like the Country Bear Jamboree, which, as God as my witness, has not changed one tiny bit in 30 years.

“We should just go back to the room for a while and come back,”  Jerry suggested.

“No!” I shouted. “We are not doing that. That will take forever.”

“But we’re all wet,” he continued. “We could go back to the room…”

“If you say that one more time, I swear to God…”

Uh oh. Do I hear fighting in the Magic Kingdom?

But the sun came out while we were on “It’s a small world” and all was right again in the kingdom.

We had dinner at The Crystal Palace and Tigger, Pooh and Eyeore were all there.

Tyler took special delight in sneaking up behind each character and touching it on the bum. I should probably be worried about that.

It had been a 13-hour day. I was grateful I’d made a reservation.

“What can I get ya’ll to drink?” the waitress asked.

“What have you got on tap?” Jerry replied.

“I’m sorry, sir. Alcohol is not served in the Magic Kingdom.”

“Huh. It’s not really so magical then is it?”

“Not for the adults,” she agreed.

But the fireworks made up for it.

4 Responses to “On the first day at Disney…”

  1. Chrissy….you make me smile!

  2. Awesome pics! So glad you had a wonderful vacation!!

Leave a Reply

