Man Lesson #2

GRIN # 372

This next lesson has taken me a really long time to learn and, even now, I’m not sure I believe it.

I’m always in my own head too much, thinking things like, “He’s got to notice this ten pounds I gained” and feeling all self-conscious about it.

Here’s what I think is the truth: They. Don’t. Care.

Now if you get all psycho on them and obsess about it, talking about it all the time, then they care because, frankly, you’re driving them crazy. But from an appearance perspective, not so much. You’re you, and he loves you for who you are.

That is, if you have a good guy. If you have a guy who brings it up before you do, well, then, he needs a permanent trip to the curb.

And then last weekend during the Super Bowl, I came across Man Lesson # 2 part B. A commercial came on (I can’t remember which one) that made me wonder aloud, “Man, we’ve been together so long; are you happy with our sex life? You have to tell me if you’re not.”

Man Lesson #2 Part B: Men are happy you’re just there–ready and willing.

And Jerry told me: “What’s not to be happy about? I don’t have to argue for it, fight for it or buy beers for it.”

(There’s a compliment in there somewhere; I just know it).

In other words, I am really freakin’ easy.

3 Responses to “Man Lesson #2”

  1. This is profound.

  2. LOL – with all of these pop psychologists writing books about “Men are from Mars”, yada, yada; Jerry just perfectly explained what makes men happy in two sentences!

    • That’s what I thought, Tim. Know what he said, “I can’t believe you wrote that; that’s embarrassing.” Anything with the word “sex” in it is embarrasssing:))

Leave a Reply

