Thanks, son

GRIN # 381

The other day I had to run some errands and Tyler begged to go with me.

“You don’t want to go,” I said. “It will be boring.”

But none of his friends were home. Whine, whine, whine.

“Fine, get in the car,” I said.

Driving along, I saw a man probably about my age, maybe a little older, striding down the sidewalk. Boy, did he look happy. Arms a swingin’. He had a big smile on his face. It was pretty dang refreshing.

“Look at that guy,” I said, pointing him out to Tyler. “He’s a happy guy. Out enjoying his walk.”

“He’s probably just glad to be getting out of his mom’s house,” Tyler replied.

I sighed.

“What?” he asked, completely oblivious.

“I don’t think that’s it. He looks too old to live with his mom. You don’t have to live with your mom forever, you know.”

He absorbed this information and nodded.

“I think I will buy a house with a big swimming pool,” he said.

“That’s good. Can I come visit?”

“Sure.”

So that’s settled. I’m about three decades early, but dibs on the house with the pool.

4 Responses to “Thanks, son”

  1. “He’s probably just glad to be getting out of his mom’s house,” Tyler replied.”

    This quote is so funny on so many levels! From the mouths of babes… 🙂

  2. Tell Tyler I have candy at my house…in exchange for an invitation to the house with pool.

Leave a Reply

