Are YOU Mensa material?

GRIN # 392

While researching a project, I came across an I.Q. test for Mensa. If you don’t know, American Mensa is an organization of folks who score in the top two percent of intelligence tests. In other words, they are really damn smart.

Following the test is an evaluation you can use to determine how smart you are.

For example, if you answer 17 to 20 questions, you just might be a “Menser.” Thirteen to 16 questions? You would fit in at a Mensa event. Seven to nine: you have the potential to qualify. Less than 7? Maybe you’re having a bad day.

Nowhere on there does it address what it means if you cannot even UNDERSTAND the questions, let alone attempt any of them.

I’m assuming it means I’m a total idiot. Then again, I’m not that bright.

So. Give a few of these a try. I have the answers, too, if anyone actually comes up with anything. I will honestly be extremely impressed by any attempts.

Here goes:

1. The day before the day after tomorrow will be Saturday. The day after the day before yesterday was Thursday. What day is today?

2. Which of the following words is the odd man out?

HURTLE, AMUSERS, MISERABLE, PASTURE

3. What is one-half of one-fifth of one-half of one-tenth of 5,000?

4. In a contest to guess the number of tennis balls in a jar, Sam guessed 33, Thomas guessed 29, Sally guessed 27 and Ryan guessed 37. Nobody was correct. One guessed three too many, one guessed seven too many, one guessed one too few, and one guessed three too few. How many tennis balls were there?

5. Find the six-digit number in which the first digit is one less than the second, the second digit is one less than the third, the third digit is one less than the fourth, which is one less than the fifth, and the fifth digit is one less than the last. The sum of the first, second and third digits equals the sixth. The sum of the all the digits is 21.

6. Which word, when unscrambled, does not match the others?

SAAASTOR, STYKEEW, LLSSEEAAAHT, SLOESLAEGN

29 Responses to “Are YOU Mensa material?”

  1. Yep, this proves it, I’m an idiot!:>)
    (I couldn’t even finish reading #5 before I was lost, LOL!!!)

  2. I think the answer to number 1 is Wednesday, but it took me 10 minutes to get that far…

  3. I’ll try the number ones, the other ones are harder to me..

    1. Friday
    3. 25
    4. 30
    5. 123,456

  4. I also think the answer to number 4 is 30 and the answer to number 5 is 123456 but my brain hurts now.

  5. I really hope you have an answer key somewhere! =)

  6. Kendra Says:

    Judging from the comments above, and if #6 are Florida cities, I got them all except #2. I actually sent my test scores to Mensa to see if they would accept me one time! I think I’ve probably burnt up a few brain cells since I took those IQ tests. Thanks for the brain teasers!

    • Wow, Kendra! Very impressed. For 6, the odd man out is “Sloeslaegen” or Los Angeles because it’s NOT a Florida city; I’m not sure if that’s what you meant but you’re definitely on the right track.. I will post all answers tomorrow. You go girl!! I am so impressed with all my super smart friends.

  7. Here’s what I think:
    1. Friday
    2. Miserable (not sure why I think that though….instinct, maybe?)
    3. 2.5 (could it be?)
    4. 30
    5. 123456
    6. no idea

    • Sigh. Okay this is getting ridiculous. # is 25 not 2.5 and the rest are right. #2 is right; it’s the odd man out b/c the other three are anagrams of famous names: Luther, Erasmus, Pasteur. AWESOME!!

      • Seriously??? WOW! If I had known I was so gifted, I would have done so many thing differently. πŸ˜‰ I would have applied myself more. Can I have a do-over of high school and college now?

      • Want me to send you more questions??

      • I’m going to quit while I’m ahead. πŸ™‚

  8. Michelle Says:

    Eric
    1. Friday
    2. Hurtle
    3. 25
    4. 30
    5. 123456
    6. Los Angeles

  9. 2. is AMUSERS – no silent “e”/no terminal “e”

    6. SAAASTOR, STYKEEW, LLSSEEAAAHT, SLOESLAEGN
    SARASOTA, KEY WEST, TALLAHASSEE, LOS ANGELES

    LOS ANGELES is not in Florida.

    Once I figured out “Tallahassee” I was on the right trail.

    • Six is right!!! Wow! # 2 is actually “Miserable.” The others are all anagrams of famous names: Luther, Erasmus, Pasteur (at least according to my answer key).

      • Yeah, I hate questions like #2 – you could really come up with about six reasons for one being the odd man out. I guess they were trying to be clever with the clue.

      • Oh, Jason. I hate all of these questions. My brain just gives up before it can even begin.

    • I’m almost positive the answer to number 2 is miserable. The other three all have U’s.

  10. I got as far as #1 guessing “Friday”….then realized that “Friday” is the best day to sit in a pub with a pitcher or two of the amber nectar of the gods (aka “Beer”) and ponder life’s questions; so that’s exactly what I’m going to do, I’ll have a few beers on Friday and get the answers to you on Monday.

    Wait, some smarties in this crowd have already guessed all the right answers…oh well, guess that means I’ll just have a few more beers to nurse my hurting head! πŸ™‚

  11. Wow, this was a fun brain teaser. I figured out Friday, 25, 30, and 123456 easy enough. I guessed Miserable because it was the only one without a U. As for the scrambled up names in 6, Tallahassee is the only one I could unscramble so I was clueless on that one. OK, I’m done thinking for today.

    • Awesome, Diana!! You’re right on all of them. Miserable is the answer b/c it’s the only one that’s not an anagram of famous people’s names: Luther, Erasmus and Pasteur. And for 6, the answer is sloeslaegen or “Los Angeles.” The other three are cities in Fla: Tally, Key West and Sarasota. My hat’s off to you!

  12. Mark said 2. is Amusers b/c it’s the only one that ends in rs….

Leave a Reply

